Sorauren Stories: Artists of Sorauren released

Artists Leslie Norgate and Michael Gerry are featured on two episodes of Sorauren Stories: Artists of Sorauren

Sorauren Park’s 25th Anniversary video series, Sorauren Stories, continues this month with the release of Artists of Sorauren Park, two short episodes featuring painters Michael Gerry and Leslie Norgate.

Both local residents, Michael and Leslie have found inspiration in the people, nature, buildings and moods of Sorauren Park.

“I travel a lot, and I used to take groups painting. I’d paint in let’s say Italy or France, or Mexico or wherever. And it’s fun and interesting and I enjoy it, but it doesn’t have the same feeling as painting my own environment that means something to me,” says Michael in the video.

“I think my favourite place maybe is the big circular track where you get to just walk and get to see the whole thing… it’s like you’re in the middle of a movie and the movie is playing as you’re walking around. I really like that,” says Leslie in her interview.

Sorauren Stories is produced by Friends of Sorauren Park to celebrate the quarter-century anniversary in a year when our regular permitted activities like outdoor movies were not possible. The series includes the People of Sorauren Park, the Dogs of Sorauren Park and the Trees of Sorauren Park.

The anniversary series will conclude with a special half-hour documentary, 25 Years of Community Building: The Story of Sorauren Park, with a special screening on Friday, December 4 at 8 pm… watch this space and our social media channels @SoraurenPark for details!

Leave a comment